We have offered multiple programs and services since 1956. Offering educational opportunities to the community is an integral part of our mission.
The Escondido History Center invites the public to visit our Office and Research Center during business hours to learn more about Escondido's fascinating history from the books, directories, photographs, and documents there.
Trained and knowledgeable docents are available to guide visitors through our buildings during the hours that they are open.
Visitors are welcome to watch working blacksmiths create decorative and functional items, just as they have for centuries past, at the Bandy Blacksmith Shop on Tuesdays and Saturdays.
Approximately 1500 historic photographs can be found on this website.
The nearby Old Escondido Historic District is the city's first neighborhood and features numerous homes with interesting architecture and histories. Maps can be downloaded online or printed versions are available at the History Center office for self-guided tours.
We are pleased to offer tours of the museum complex to visiting schoolchildren on field trips.
Membership includes a quarterly newsletter that features articles about Escondido's fascinating history.
Railroad Depot Office and Waiting Room in Santa Fe Depot
H-O model train in Pullman Train Car
Blacksmithing and Wheelwright activity in the Bandy Blacksmith Shop on Tuesdays and Saturdays.
The Victorian House is temporarily closed for repairs
The Main Office and Research Center features displays, photographs, and resources for research